Motocross Action Mag


Date Added: 04/06/2018 19:10 by Motocross Action Mag

Photos by Browndog Wilson.The Thunder Valley track.

For the third stop on the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross tour was the mile high track of Thunder Valley in Colorado. The riders and teams get a week off after Colorado to start migrating East for round four at High Point in Pennsylvania. The 250 and 450 classes were stacked full of new and old riders trying to make their move closer to the top step of the podium coming into the weekend off. With the Thunder Valley track’s elevation being higher than most at 6100 feet above sea level, it made it challenging for some of the riders. It showed which riders came prepared and which didn’t. Here’s how the day panned out.

Joey Savatgy250 qualifying belonged to Joey Savatgy.

Eli Tomac Eli Tomac punched in the fastest 450 time in qualifying. 

FansFans gathered from near and far to witness round 3. It was a hot one.

Lucas Oil GirlsThe Lucas Oil Girls Nicole Cesa (left) and Carrie Bowling (right) were happy to be back at the races.

Rockstar HusqvarnaUnfortunately, the Rockstar Husqvarna 250 rig was the only Husky rig in attendance due to Dean Wilson and Jason Anderson’s injuries. Word on the street is there not searching for a fill-in rider.

Ken RoczenGoggle check for Ken Roczen.

Thunder ValleyThe Thunder Valley National trophies. 

Track conditions were all-time on Saturday.

Wil HahnTo kick off the racing, we were able to see the second round of the 125cc All-Stars in Colorado. Wil Hahn put together a dominating performance aboard his factory Star Racing Yamaha YZ125.

Weston peickWhile the 250 guys were getting all lined up, this is what was going down in the Autotrader Suzuki pits. 

Alright, now lets get down to the moto’s. First up, the 250 guys.

Zach OsborneZach Osborne crossed the line in 5th. He crashed during practiced an re-injured his thumb. It was a tough start to the day.

Jordon SmithJordon Smith came through with a 4th.

Alex MArtinJordon’s teammate Alex Martin was far ahead in 3rd.

Jeremy MartinAlex’s younger brother Jeremy Martin ran and finished in 2nd.

Justin CooperBut this was the real story of the first 250 moto. Justin Cooper pulled the holeshot and managed to lead for the first 15 minutes until he was passed by Pro Circuit’s Joey Savatgy. No less than three laps later, Joey came to a dramatic stop due to a blown engine. Savatgy finished 34th, and Justin Cooper rode to his first ever 250 moto win.


  1. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  2. Jeremy Martin (Hon)
  3. Alex Martin (KTM)
  4. Jordan Smith (KTM)
  5. Zach Osborne (Hus)
  6. Aaron Plessinger (Yam)
  7. Garrett Marchbanks (Kaw)
  8. Austin Forkner (Kaw)
  9. Shane McElrath (KTM)
  10. Chase Sexton (Hon)
  11. Sean Cantrell (KTM)
  12. Enzo Lopes (Suz)
  13. RJ Hampshire (Hon)
  14. Martin Castelo (Yam)
  15. Justin Hill (Suz)
  16. Michael Mosiman (Hus)
  17. Jordan Bailey (Hus)
  18. Brandon Hartranft (Yam)
  19. Ramyller Alves (Yam)
  20. Gage Schehr (KTM)
  21. Challenge Tennant (Yam)
  22. Gustavo De Souza (Hon)

450 Start Thunder ValleyNext up, the 450’s. This class got off to a rough start. Justin Barcia jumped to the early lead followed by Eli Tomac and Ken Roczen. Suddenly, the red flag was waved due to a massive wreck from Kyle Chisholm. Once Kyle was cleared off the track, they started again. This time Justin Barcia had to do some work after going down in the forth corner. He ended up 5th.

Marvin MusquinMarvin Musquin ended up in 4th in the first 450 moto.

Blake BaggettBlake Baggett gave it everything he had. He pressured second, but in the end third is what he had to settle for.

Ken RoczenEveryone was impressed by Ken Roczen. He made it hard on Eli Tomac while he had the lead at the beginning of the moto and held off Baggett. He finished 2nd.

Eli TomacBut Eli Tomac rode to a dominant 1st place.


  1. Eli Tomac (Kaw)
  2. Ken Roczen (Hon)
  3. Blake Baggett (KTM)
  4. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
  5. Justin Barcia (Yam)
  6. Benny Bloss (KTM)
  7. Weston Peick (Suz)
  8. Phillip Nicoletti (Suz)
  9. Dylan Merriam (Yam)
  10. Lorenzo Laccurcio (Hon)
  11. Jake Masterpool (Yam)
  12. Alex Ray (Yam)
  13. Cade Autenrieth (KTM
  14. Brandan Leith (Kaw)
  15. Brandon Scharer (Yam)
  16. Cody Cooper (Hon)
  17. Ben Lamay (Hon)
  18. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
  19. Henry Miller (Suz)
  20. Dare DeMartile (Hon)
  21. Felix Lopez (KTM)
  22. Toshiki Tomita (Hon)

250 STARTIt’s time to cover the second motos which determine the overalls. The second 250 moto started off rough for title contenders Joey Savatgy and Zach Osborne. They were caught up in a massive first turn pile up, and were forced to start from the very back. Zach Osborne finished 20th in the moto but scored an 11th overall, and Joey Savatgy went 12th for a 17th overall due to his first moto DNF.

Jordon SmithJordon Smith pulled through with a 5th overall on the day with a 4-5 score.

Austin ForknerAustin Forkner had a rough start to the day with a 7th in moto one. But in moto two he turned it up for a third, and scored a 4th overall.

250 START THUNDER VALLEYJustin Cooper also had some trouble in the second moto. He crossed the line in 8th, but with his 1st place finish in the first moto he landed on the podium for 3rd overall.

Alex MArtinAlex Martin really dropped the hammer in Thunder Valley. He jumped to the early lead in moto two and managed to hold off brother Jeremy Martin. Eventually, J-Mart got around his brother and left Alex in 2nd. With a score of 3-2, Alex grabbed a 2nd overall.

250 Podium Thunder ValleyBut in the end, it was Jeremy Martin who stood on top. His 2-1 score landed him the overall win.


  1. Jeremy Martin (Hon)
  2. Alex Martin (KTM)
  3. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  4. Austin Forkner (Kaw)
  5. Jordan Smith (KTM)
  6. Aaron Plessinger (Yam)
  7. Chase Sexton (Hon)
  8. Shane McElrath (KTM)
  9. Garrett Marchbanks (Kaw)
  10. RJ Hampshire (Hon)
  11. Zach Osborne (Hus)
  12. Michael Mosiman (Hus)
  13. Enzo Lopes (Suz)
  14. Justin Hill (SUZ)
  15. Sean Cantrell (KTM)
  16. Martin Castelo (Yam)
  17. Joey Savatgy (Kaw)
  18. Jordan Bailey (Hus)
  19. Challenge Tennant (Yam)
  20. Brandon Hartranft (Yam)
  21. Gustavo De Souza (Hon)
  22. Gage Schehr (KTM)

450 Start Thunder Valley The final moto of the day–the 450s second moto.

Benny BlossIt was a great day for Benny Bloss. He ended up with a 6-5 score and a 5th overall.

Marvin MUsquin Marvin Musquin ran up front in the early parts of the motos, but ended up with a 4-4 score and a 4th overall on the day.

Blake BaggettIt was a very successful day for Blake Baggett. He went 3-3 for a 3rd overall, and a spot on the podium.

Ken RoczenThe phrase “a step in the right direction” best describes Ken Roczen’s performance in Colorado. He went 2-2 for a 2nd overall. But, he really held off Tomac for the lead in both motos.

Eli TomacSo far, Eli Tomac has a perfect season going for him. Go he make it to 24 straight moto wins? This is domination at its finest. He won the overall by sweeping both motos in his home state.


  1. Eli Tomac (Kaw)
  2. Ken Roczen (Hon)
  3. Blake Baggett (KTM)
  4. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
  5. Benny Bloss (KTM)
  6. Justin Barcia (Yam)
  7. Weston Peick (Suz)
  8. Phillip Nicoletti (Suz)
  9. Dylan Merriam (Yam)
  10. Brandon Scharer (Yam)
  11. Jake Masterpool (Yam)
  12. Lorenzo Laccurcio (Hon)
  13. Cade Autenrieth (KTM
  14. Alex Ray (Yam)
  15. Cody Cooper (Hon)
  16. Brandan Leith (Kaw)
  17. Henry Miller (Suz)
  18. Toshiki Tomita (Hon)
  19. Ben Lamay (Hon)
  20. Felix Lopez (KTM)
  21. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
  22. Chase Marquier (Hus)

We’ve got a weekend off, but we will return to racing on June 16th in High Point, Pennsylvania. 


The post 2018 THUNDER VALLEY NATIONAL | THE AFTERMATH appeared first on Motocross Action Magazine.